On the left Side bar you will see a Games section by your stream. This is the only place games, and the inevitable “You’ve unlocked X in game Y” posts will show up. Unlike facebook which puts all those stupid game updates in your normal feed, all game related stuff on Google+ will never go into your friends normal stream. They will only see the game updates if they purposefully open the game stream in the left sidebar.
When you’re ready to play, the Games page is waiting—click the games button at the top of your stream. You can see the latest game updates from your circles, browse the invites you’ve received and check out games that people you know have played recently. The Games page is also where your game accomplishments will appear. So you can comfortably share your latest high score—your circles will only see the updates when they’re interested in playing games too.
If you’re not interested in games, it’s easy to ignore them. Your stream will remain focused on conversations with the people you care about.
Check out the pic below for the full list of the launch games. Now what I want to know is how much information from my profile is shared with the game developer if I start to play one of their games? I’m interested in several of those games but I don’t want to give all my information to the developers in order to play. I’m sending an email to google and will update this post when they answer my question.
Update: The game permissions are similar to Facebook. Each game has different levels of permissions but the most they are asking for right now is:
View basic information about your account including your name, public profile, gender, birthdate, country, language and timezone.
View your email address
View the people in your circles in order of how often you interact with them across all Google services.
That’s disappointing to me. Even if I want to play one of their games they should not be able to see the people in my circles. They may not want that information known to a third party.
Share this post: